dynamic cell




The Dynamic Cell meeting was held in 2014
Where | Robinson College, Cambridge.
When | 4-7 September 2014.
What | The meeting was designed as a mix of membrane trafficking, mitosis, motors and microtubules. It was organised by BSCB and Biochemical Society.


Plenary Speaker | Jim Spudich

Medal talks
Jeff Errington (Newcastle, UK) | Novartis Medal and Prize
Juan Martin-Serrano (KCL, UK) | GlaxoSmithKline Award
Melina Schuh (MRC-LMB, UK) | Early Career Research Award


BSCB teamed up with the Biochemical Society to run an autumn meeting The Dynamic Cell 2014 at Robinson College, Cambridge. The meeting brought together 196 delegates from around the globe (USA, Australia, Asia, Europe) working across different areas of cell biology including endocytic sorting, the secretory pathway, chromosome segregation, cytokinesis, cytoskeletal motors and cell motility and the cytoskeleton. I co-organised the meeting with James Wakefield (Exeter, BSCB), Jeremy Carlton (KCL, Biochem Soc) and Ulrike Grunerberg (Oxford, Biochem Soc). The Biochemical Society provided organisational support, Charlotte Dooley in particular was very helpful in getting everything organised.

The meeting comprised six sessions with a mix of invited speakers and elevated presentations. The gender balance was 48% and 41% female for invited speakers and elevated talks, respectively. Many of the presentations featured unpublished work, making for many exciting and stimulating discussions that continued well into the evening. The BSCB-sponsored plenary lecture was delivered by 2012 Lasker prize awardee Prof Jim Spudich (Stanford), a fantastic historical overview of his discoveries on myosin and his latest work on heart disease. The Biochemical Society presented three medals at the meeting to Melina Schuh (MRC-LMB), Juan Martin-Serrano (KCL) and Jeff Errington (Newcastle). These awards were presented by Ron Laskey, outgoing president of the Biochemical Society, and a previous chair of the BSCB.

We ran four poster sessions throughout the meeting, these were well attended and the poster judging was crowd-sourced. The Biochemical Society and British Society for Cell Biology poster prize was awarded to Amy Wilson (KCL) for her poster entitled Probing cytokinesis: Identifying new proteins involved in cell division, and the Biochemical Journal poster prize was awarded to Mark Richards (University of Bristol) for his poster The formin FMNL3 in angiogenesis.

Cambridge was an excellent place to hold the meeting. Robinson College was a great venue, with high quality accommodation and AV equipment. The meeting dinner, held in the grand surroundings of King's College, was hugely popular, especially amongst the attendees from outside the UK.


Official website | hosted by the Biochem. Soc.

Programme | preserved here for posterity

BSCB organisers | Steve Royle (Warwick) & James Wakefield (Exeter)
Biochem Soc organisers | Jez Carlton (KCL) & Ulli Gruneberg (Oxford)


Cell Migration and the Cytoskeleton
Anne Straube (Warwick, UK)
>Directional migration driven by the microtubule cytoskeleton
Laura Machesky (Beatson, UK)
>Mechanisms of actin assembly during cell motility
Vic Small (Vienna, Austria)
>Mechanisms underlying cell migration

Cargo Sorting in the Endocytic Pathway
Gero Steinberg (Exeter, UK)
>Motors and endosome transport in Ustiago
Linton Traub (Pittsburgh, USA)
>Endocytic cargo selection and clathrin coat assembly
Margaret Robinson (CIMR, UK)
>Adaptor protein complexes
Peter Cullen (Bristol, UK)
>Endosomal sorting by mammalian sorting nexins

Membrane Traffic in the Secretory Pathway
Anne Spang (Biozentrum Basel, Switzerland)
>The mechanisms underlying protein and mRNA transport within the cell
Catherine Rabouille (Hubrecht Institute, Netherlands)
>Organisation of the secretory pathway in D. melanogaster
Susan Ferro-Novick (UCSD, USA)
>Regulation of secretory traffic by TRAPP complexes
Vivek Malhotra (CRG Barcelona, Spain)
>Intracellular compartation

Molecular Control of Chromosome Segregation
Claire Walczak (Indiana, USA)
>Mitotic spindle assembly
Fanni Gergely (CRUK CRI, UK)
>Function and behavior of vertebrate centrosomes
Jonathan Millar (Warwick, UK)
>Chromosome segregation and regulation of the spindle assembly checkpoint
Susanne Lens (Utrecht, Netherlands)
>Targeting, functions and regulation of the chromosomal passenger complex

Membrane Dynamics during Cytokinesis
Francis Barr (Oxford, UK)
>Control of late events in cytokinesis
Gerd Juergens (Tuebingen, Germany)
>Cytokinesis in A. thaliana
Paolo D'Avino (Cambridge, UK)
>Cytokinesis in D. melanogaster
Ulrike Eggert (KCL, UK)
>Role of lipids in cytokinesis

In-Vitro Analysis of Molecular Motors
Andrew Carter (MRC-LMB, UK)
>Structure and mechanisms of dynein
Michelle Peckham (Leeds,UK)
>Molecular mechanisms of myosin function
Thomas Surrey (CRUK-LRI, UK)
>Quantitative systems biology of the microtubule cytoskeleton